Theory of Appreciation

So I woke up to the sounds of morning

Gurgling coffee, the tapping of my panel curtains when the fan breezed across them

And then my Hanai mother started cutting through corrugated paper (or cardboard)

and I began thinking about the deaf

Would they recognize these sounds? If there were a program to help them gain their sense of sound, would it be what they thought it would be or would they be disdained at the actual sensations that sounds provide?

I found myself often pondering what blind and deaf people miss out on like music, art, the characters and lines of alphabet, the sound and sight of running water.

And then I think of how nice it would be to walk through the inner city and not hear the  screaming ambulance speeding by, the meditative permanence of a life not bound to the aesthetic- and I realized:

The blind may know that sight offers marvelous things like color recognition but they haven’t had to endure the ever changing palette mash ups from the fashion world. That the deaf may not realize that while they cannot hear Pavarotti, they also don’t have to put up with the booming bass sounds of adolescent drivers at 2 a.m.

This made me realize- we don’t know what we have until it is gone.

I hope that someday, if I gain enough money to help my family the way I would like to- that I will still remember days when we were more limited. And realize that these limitations are what enables me to maintain simplicity that I may not later know.

I also realized that while the deaf and blind may not have the everyday advantage of seeing something coming from down the road or hearing the siren blaring behind them – they just may be more adept in their recognition of things in other ways. For example, they may not see or hear the running water, but imagine the heightened sense, then, of touching the water and feeling it traverse down your throat in its cool liquid form and the rejuvenation that enters your bloodstream prickling your skin and then melting through your pours as it revitalizes a body parched from being away from it’s source of life for just a few hours.

For some odd reason, I always come to the same conclusion- that they just don’t understand the limitations. That who is so-called blind and deaf and non-awakened are actually more adept to appreciation and therefore more filled with life.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t tell you what things those are because I am burdened with distractions from the wonderful senses of sight and sound. Or am I? Do I have to be?

I do know this: it is the simple things in life that are most valuable- it has always been that way and it isn’t going to change. So slow down,

Maybe this is why we close our eyes in a sound proof room to meditate- bring us back to simplicity.

DSCN9667.JPG

